Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Occupy Wallstreet
I don't exactly know what this whole thing is against exactly. I've heard that 1% of the population holds like 90% of the worlds wealth. Rich keep getting richer, poor keep getting poorer. ect..
But what is this whole thing about? Publicly traded companys are bad? Wall street is the reason i'm getting fucked on my credit card rates and mortgauge?
I don't really know what they're against.

The real reason i bring this up is because of the heavy police presence at all this shit. i'm just a roofer, and i don't know exactly where in the constitution it says you have the right to peacablly assemble, but i know it does.

Cops have been fucking people up at these things. Towns are bitching how much police overtime is costing their towns. My question is, if its just a bunch of people getting together, why would they feel the need to send like 50 cops out to watch over them? If nobody is getting out of line and nobody called them in, what reason do they have to be there?? It's like sending 100 cops to watch over a high school football game because something might happen after the game in the parking lot.

:beer: In a nutshell, i dont think there should be any cops there unless somebody calls them, just like anywhere else in everyday life
You have to maintain police presence at any mass public gathering. Especially protest gatherings where there is potential for civil unrest and disruption. It's part of the job. For example...if something breaks bad how in the world are you supposed to mobilize and deal with it? You have to be there in the first place. People are getting fucked up at these things because they are violating the law and actively confronting the cops. Which is the E-ticket to getting your ass kicked.