Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Difference between a wine geek and wine snob?
To me there are 3 categories of wine drinkers on the planet. The bulk who just drink, wine geeks and wine snobs.

Wine Geek- Someone who will try any wine and have an opinion on that wine based on the quality. The attend offlines (if you don't know the term you are not in the category), use Cellar Tracker, love finding $80 in a closeout bin, love educating others, use proper stemware and bring them to a restaurant. OF COURSE FOLLOWS THE TASTING PROCESS.

Wine Snob- Drinks Silver Oak, Caymus, Opus One. Think they know a ton about wine but have not clue Bordeaux is Cab and Merlot dominated. Will only drink a wine over $100 or refuses to try new wines. Uses improper stemware at times. May or may not use the tasting process.

I am a total wine geek for life!!!!!

Thanks John Glas; Owner - Wineglas Professional Wine Tastings & Event Planning
I'm a wine noob. I love wine, but I'm not up to speed on all of the terminology although I'm slowly learning.
I too am a wine noob. It is so hard to remember all the shit that a wine geek knows.
I was a Little League superstar, don't hate.

Dudebro #5 on the Rich Davis poll and Dudebro #11 on the Steve Covino Poll.  Former Dudebro #18.
[Image: 1square07.jpg][Image: 1square01.jpg]
Guess i've got no class, because for me, wine = :barf:
I can tolerate some white wine, but reds taste gross to me. Real bitter.
negadave Wrote:Guess i've got no class, because for me, wine = :barf:
What he said.
Everything I say is not true and all things I claim to have done or do are just made up for argument sake!!
[Image: nph_loves_mondays.gif]
I'm not too big on wine but I might have a glass once in a great while. So I'm a wine noob too.
[Image: Pieman-1.jpg?t=1284932424][Image: Yuingling-1.jpg?t=1277772886][Image: 0628101537a-1.jpg?t=1277772720]

Look for sweet wines to start out.
Wine is just another type of booze to me. You find a type you like and drink it