Dudebro Nation

Full Version: Maxim Subscription
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am currently looking over my magazine subscriptions. My Sports Illustrated is ending this month and I am not renewing it. I only got it in the first place b/c I wanted the Steelers Super Bowl pack. It is really not a good magazine anymore.

I currently get:

1. Playboy - I will maintain this b/c I have over 80% of all monthly issues ever published. It's only like $20 a year.

2. ESPN the magazine - Terrible magazine, but comes free with an ESPN.com insider subscription. I really like ESPN.com's layout and the insider stuff is really top notch. So I will be getting this for a long time.

3. Army Times - more of a newspaper. I have a free lifetime subscription, so nothing to really talk about here.

I wouldn't mind getting Soldier of Fortune, but probably won't.

That leaves Maxim. Do I renew it when it runs up?

Pro's: They still put hot chicks, some good advise and decent stories in the magazine.

Con's: The magazine is smaller than ever. Most pictorials are 4 pages max. C&R are no longer associated with the brand, nor is Sirius. Even free, is it really worth the time to read it and the paper to print it anymore? Would it not be easier to just check out their website once a week?

So what say you all? Should I keep it or cancel it?
Do you still get Maxim? Are you going to renew?
What magazines do you still get?

There was a point in the late 90's, where I got something like 15 magazines a month. Those days are LOOOOONG over. I looks to be down to 2 and a newspaper soon, and only 1 that actual magazine that I give a shit about.
Have only because it's free. Wouldn't pay for it at all. Truth be told I liked my free sub to FHM a LOT better.

Free...yeah keep it. Otherwise DX it.
I currently get Maxim, but once it runs out I won't be renewing.